Vice-President of India: Election, Power, Role, and Duty

Let us know the Details about the Vice-President of India, Powers, Election, Salary, Role, and Duty in Details along with the details of current Vice-President Mr Venkaiah Naidu

India’s second house of Parliament Rajyasabha was created in the year 1952. It was also decided that vice-president will be the second person of India, the second-highest constitutional post of India. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan became the first Vice-President of Independence India.

Vice-President of India_ Election, Powers, Role, and Duties

Hey Guys, Welcome Back to the new post of  Study QnA. Today I am going to discuss all Questions regarding the Vice-President of India. What are the powers of the Vice-President? How he gets Elected? And What are the eligibility criteria to become the Vice-President of India?

Vice-President of India

Article 63 of the Indian Constitution describes more about the post of Vice-President. He serves for a five-year term but can continue to be in the office, irrespective of the term until the newly elected Vice-President takes oath.

Eligibility to become the Vice-President

The Vice-President post is one of the important post of the Indian Constitution. So there are some eligibility criteria to become the Vice-President of India. They are:

  • Candidate must be an Indian Citizen
  • He must have completed the age of 35
  • He must be qualified to become a member of Council of States (Rajya Sabha)
  • He must not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or a State Government or any subordinate local Authority

Powers and Roles and Duties

The Vice-President of India has no specific power and duties. But the constitution of India has provided some specific tasks to the Vice-President of India. They are as follows:

  • He acts as the Chairman and Speaker of Rajya Sabha
  • He acts as the President of India in the absence of President.

If the office of the president and Vice President remains vacant, then Chief Justice of the Supreme Court will serve as the President of India. Even if the post of the Chief Justice of India remains vacant, then the senior-most Judge of the Supreme Court will be the President of India.

For the first time in 1969, when the President Dr. Zakir Hussain died and the Vice-President V. V Giri resigned, that time’s Chief Justice of the Supreme Courte MD Hidayatullah acted as the President of India.

Vice-President Election

The Vice-President of India is elected indirectly by the people of India through electoral College.

The vice-presidential election is like the President. But the electoral college of the presidential election is different from the electoral college of Vice-President election. 


In the case of President only elected people can vote while for the Vice-President case, both nominated and elected people can vote. For More details about Presidental Election Click Here

Removal of Vice-President

The Vice-President can be removed by passing an absolute Majority (More than 50% vote of the total Members) vote against the Removal of Vice-President in Parliament.


The salary of the Vice-President of India is ‘0’. It does not mean that the Vice-President doesn’t get any Salary. He is also the Chairman of Rajyasabha. So he gets all the salary and incentive for the Chairman of Rajya Sabha. The salary of the Vice-President of India is about ‎₹400,000 (US$5,600) per month. If the Vice-President replaces President then he will get all services and Salary of President.

Current Vice-President of India

  • Name: Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu
  • Date of Birth: 01/July/1949
  • State: Andhra Pradesh
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu- Vice-President of India
  • Office Joined: 11th August 2017
  • Leave the Office: 10th August 2022
  • Religion: Hindu

List of Vice-President of India

Sl NoNameJoining DateLeaving Date
1Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13th May 195212th May 1962
02Dr. Zakir Hussain13th May 196212 May 1967
03Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri13th May 19673rd May 1969
04Gopal Swarup Pathak31st August 196930th August 1974
05Basappa Danappa Jatti31st August 197430th August 1979
06Justice Muhammad Hidayatullah31st August 197930 August 1984
07Ramaswamy Venkataraman31st August 198424th July 1987
08Shankar Dayal Sharma3rd September 198724th July 1992
09Kocheril Raman Narayanan21st August 199224th July 1997
10Krishan Kant21st August 199727th Jully 2002
11Bhairon Singh Shekhawat19th August 200221st July 2007
12Mohammad Hamid Ansari11st August 200710th August 2017
13Venkaiah Naidu11th August 2017Continuing

I hope, I have answered all your Questions regarding the Vice-President. Lets do some QnA

Important QNA

  • The Vice-President post is adapted from America’s Constitution.
  • Dr. Rajendra Prasad is the First Vice-President of India
  • President of India gives oath to Vice-President.
  • The Vice-President is the Chairman of Rajya Sabha and Rajya Sabha TV.
  • Mr Venkaiah Naidu is the 13th Vice-President of India
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a Reply